In order to plan meaningful learning experiences in harmony with our learning and teaching philosophy, teachers consider several aspects, including the readiness of the child, the local context and curriculum documents. 

In the Early Years, several documents assist with curriculum planning at HPCPS.  The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) is a comprehensive document that emphasises principles and practices of early childhood classrooms.  The 5 learning outcomes of this document are:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity,
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world,
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing,
  • Children are confident and involved learners, and
  • Children are effective communicators

Teachers in Kindergarten are supported by the Kindergarten Curriculum Guidelines, which complement the EYLF. 

From Pre-Primary to Year 10, the Western Australian Curriculum provides the content and achievement standards to support teachers in planning and assessing.  This curriculum is currently being implemented in all schools across Western Australia and is organised into key learning areas such as English, Mathematics, Science and Technologies.  However, the WA Curriculum also emphasises that schools focus on developing in students key competencies that will assist them to be lifelong learners, known as the General Capabilities.  These capabilities are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • ICT Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding, and
  • Intercultural Understanding

The WA Curriculum also has 3 cross-curricular priorities, which are:

  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures,
  • Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia, and
  • Sustainability.

Links to Curriculum documents:
Including Early Years Learning Framework, WA Curriculum and Kindergarten Curriculum Guidelines